Heat Wave!

Standard

It’s mid-July, and New York City is scorching!  I’m talking 105 degrees.  With each step over the hot asphalt, I feel like I’m sinking down into ancient tar pits, about to be enveloped by smelly blackness to become merely a fosilized memory for future modern mice!

All dramatics aside, it is HOT, and believe me, this is not a convenient situation when navigating infernal subway tunnels and burning avenue blocks on your way to work in the morning.  Despite my best attempts at rerouting my morning journey from Brooklyn to Union Square and wearing layered outfits that bring my commuting ensemble down to the bare minimum, I have consistently shown up at work sweaty and disheveled every day for the past two weeks. 

Like most people, there’s nothing I hate more than running into co-workers right outside your office building on an especially sweaty day and having to exchange pleasantries while suffering through the world’s longest elevator ride (all the while secretively dabbing at your sweaty brow and avoiding eye contact so that they will hopefully not look at you too closely).  After having this exact situation occur several days in a row, I decided I was not going to take it anymore.  Nature be damned!  This is how I developed the emergency system for not arriving at your destination looking like a sweaty buffoon I like to call…Cool Hopping.

This system consists of strategic stops into air conditioned locations along the way to your destination that allow you to cool down at convenient intervals, arriving at your final stop with minimal signs of distress.  I like to aim for larger stops such as drugstores, chain bookstores, large clothing stores, or any kind of highly air conditioned retail location that I can pop into for a few minutes or seconds and pretend to look at merchandise before continuing on my way.  The goal is to Cool Hop your way along any long, hot stretches that you have to trudge through, and still make it to work on time (looking fabulous!).  This system obviously works best in a densly populated city environment (New York is an excellent place to Cool Hop), but if your pickings are slim or you are running late, making one Cool Hop at a location as close to your destination as possible will still make a enormous difference.

Even in the flames of summer, modern mice go forth and conquer!

Leave a Reply

